Villereal is in the Lot-et-Garonne, but is close to the border with the department of the Dordogne. It enjoys an enviable position in the valley of the river Dropt, in an area rich with bastide villages and towns.
The town has 8 main streets, all of which are set at right angles and surround a large central square. The spectacular covered market or “halle” was erected towards the end of the 14th century and boasts a very unusual wattle and daub upper storey and some impressive wooden structures. The church which was built in the 13th century is itself fortified and of great note and interest;both the church and the ‘halle’ are listed buildings.
The position of the outer road roughly lies on the line originally dug as moats (about 7m wide) to defend the town (as opposed to walls). The moats were filled in during the 18th century.
Villereal was occupied by the English for 174 years (1279 – 1453) it was Edward 1st who first granted the right to a Saturday market in 1288. This market is still held today.
The town has restored and defended its history well and makes a peaceful and inviting place to visit. There are a good supply of cafes and restaurants as well as all the other services that you might require.
Photo credits (unless otherwise stated) The Quercy Local